Academy Awards 2011

A little late recap of the Academy Awards… I’m a sucker for movies, a huge nerd. So every year I can barely stand the days before the golden globe and Academy awards, of bare excitement. I love these shows, the footage from the red carpet, watching all the beautiful celebrities in lovely designer clothes. And then the excitement that lingers during the entire show, a big dream of mine is to experience this live before I die. Usually I’m always disappointed after the show, because it’s never the ones I believe should have gotten the trophy that gets it. But this year it was very different. Two of my favorite actors finally got a well deserved statue, Colin Firth was also nominated last year for A Single Man, I was furious that he didn’t win because he was amazing in that movie, but this year he won for The Kings Speech, and this was totally deserved in this movie Colin Firth portrays King George VI who had a stutter, Colin Firth is perfect he plays this role with nerve and humor and it’s brilliant. But still I feel that he was cheated last year, perhaps it’s because I have a soft spot for A single man, perhaps because it’s about a gay man, but more because it’s one of the most beautiful movies I’ve ever watched. But this year I was happy, the ones who was overlooked in the category for best actor in a leading role was Jeff Bridges, Javier Bardem, Jesse Eigenberg and James Franco. Jeff Bridges won last year for his role in Crazy Heart, but this year he was nominated for his role in True Grit by the Coen-brothers. Javier Bardem won best actor in supporting role two years ago for his scary role in No Country for Old Men, but this year it was for his role in the international movie Biutiful. The only one who was a threat to Colin Firth was Jeff Bridges according to the academy, but if you ask me the first runner-up would have been Jesse Eigenberg for his portrait of Mark Zuckerberg in Social Network, the greater of Facebook. Jesse is perfect, he portrays this outsider so convincing and with a distance that works one hundred percent. They are all very talented actors but this year it was Colin Firth turn, and it was about time, he’s a genius.

Now we move on to best actress in a leading role, the nominees are Annette Bening, Nicole Kidman, Jennifer Lawrence, Michelle Williams and Natalie Portman. I must admit that I’ve only watched Black Swan, the one in wich Natalie Portman stared. But this movie blew my mind, I hadn’t seen it coming, I must admit I was terrified and horrified eighty percent of the movie, but it’s so amazing, and Natalie Portman gives one of the best performances I’ve ever seen. She plays a ballet dancer who’s biggest dream is to play the Queen Swan in Swan Lake, this comes true and then her mind starts falling apart. The plot is very simple, it’s the acting and intensity that carries the movie. Natalie Portman is so fragile and shy, until she developes into the Black Swan, it’s nothing less than brilliant, and it was very deserved that she received the golden statue.

Then on to best actor in a supporting role, the nominees are Christian Bale, John Hawkes, Jeremy Renner, Mark Ruffalo and Geoffrey Rush. I have only watched The Fighter with Christian Bale and The Kings Speech with Geoffrey Rush so I can’t tell if any of the other guys deserves the statue more, but I really doubt it. Geoffrey Rush is as always magnificent, but he doesn’t really bring anything new to the table, Christian Bale on the other hand is beyond brilliant. He portrays the cocaine addicted boxer Dicky Eklund, and this might be the highpoint of his career, Christian Bale is amazing he always puts himself one hundred percent out there in every role he plays, and he has played some fantastic roles I’ll just mention some of my favorite: Dan Evan in 3:10 to Yuma, Alfred Borden in the Prestige, Trevor Reznik in the Machinist, Sam in Laurel Canyon, Patrick Bateman in American Psycho, Demtrius in midsummer Nights Dream, Arthur Stuart in Velvet Goldmine, Amled in Prince of Jutland and of course Laurie in Little Women. I was so glad that he finally received an oscar, because he sure does deserve it.

Well, I will not write about all the categories only the big ones. Best motion picture was by the way won by The Kings Speech 🙂 So, this is what I thought was most important, there was many brilliant movies this year, and I will again mention Black Swan and The Kings Speech, they are awesome…

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

