Is this a kissing book?

Do you know Cary Elwes? He plays Robin Hood in Men in Tights, Kent in Hot Shots!, Jerry in Liar Liar, the evil Edgar in Ella Enchanted and many others. You might not know who he is but you probably have watched one of his movies. He’s a brilliant comedian and was rather hot in my opinion.

I’ve always loved him in the Robin Hood spoof, it’s the world’s silliest movie and still I’ve watched it a dozen times because it always makes me laugh.

Here’s a clip with a very funny dialogue. “My goldfish, Goldie?” “Eaten by the cat” “My cat?” “Choked on the goldfish”.

Oh I’m getting ahead of myself. This post was supposed to be about The princess bride, it’s a fairytale from 1987. I love this kind of movies with sword duels, love, princesses, evil kings and a beautiful setting.

This one starts out with us watching this young boy lying in bed playing video games. He’s sick and bored, then his grandfather arrives with a book that he wishes to read to his grandson. The boy reluctantly agrees to please his grandfather. Then the story begins.

We are in the country Florin where we meet Buttercup, a beautiful young woman who lives on a farm. To help her she has a farm boy, Westley who answers her every command with “As you wish!” Btw please tell me where I can meet a man like that πŸ˜‰

Westley is hopelessly in love with Buttercup, and eventually she realises this and falls in love with him too. Unfortunately Westley is very poor and in order to marry Buttercup he must travel out in the world to seek his fortune. Shortly after he has left Buttercup she gets a message saying that Westley was killed. Crushed by sorrow Buttercup hides in her house, mourning the loss of her one true love.

This may all sound very unoriginal, but at this point we are five minutes in the movie, so we’ve barely begun.

Five years later Buttercup agrees to marry Prince Humperdinck, the heir to the throne of Florin. She’s doesn’t love him and finds very little joy in life beside horseback riding. On one of her trips she’s being captured by three outlaws, who’s planning on killing her to start a war between Florin and the neighbour country. The three kidnappers are a Sicilian short guy named Vizzini, a huge wrestler from Greenland named Fezzik and last but not least Inigo Montoya a SpaniardΒ who’s a very skilled fencer.

The three kidnappers realise that they are being followed by a black hooded figure. He haunts them down and catches up with them at the top of a huge cliff. Then there are three fights. First he fights the Spaniard. Then he fights the wrestler in a battle of strength, then he fights the boss Vizzini in a battle of wits. It’s so hilarious and entertaining even though the fencing scene is incredibly long, you never seem to get bored.

I will not reveal the entire movie, but if you are looking for a real fairytale this movie will do the trick. The second I finished it I started watching it again. You’ve seen it all before, but still this movie is different. I can’t explain why, I just got so happy by watching it and sat there smiling all the way through. The only downside is the Buttercup character, she annoyed me a little bit because she never take action and keeps saying that she’s going to kill herself. But now that I think about that’s part of her charm, she’s a damsel in distress waiting for her hero to rescue her, and because he’d promised so she sees no reason to do anything except kill herself if he doesn’t come for her. Heh, now I love her to what a great thing to realise, right when I was about to trash her.

So to sum up I love this movie, and I can’t wait to watch it again i might actually do it right now πŸ˜‰ I’ve tried to find a tribute video that was able to capture the mood of the film. This wasn’t possible, so I’ve found these four movies and together I think they do the movie justice. They use a lot of the same sequences, so if you haven’t watched the movies it might not be fun watching all of them, but please watch either the second or the third, preferably both because the second is with a song by Evanescenes and the third one is just totally pink bubblegum πŸ™‚

Well, this is a fan trailer that I have found as an alternative to the original trailer that is horrible.

This movie is more dark and sets a more gloomy mood.

I have no other words than bubblegum πŸ˜‰

Just another fan video with an indie song, but watch it if you haven’t got enough πŸ˜‰

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Is this a kissing book?

  1. stenfalk says:

    honestly, i think you gotta watch the movie to find these clips interesting… πŸ˜‰ even the one with the evanescens song is a bit hard to go through…

    but, i will give you Cary Elwes is quite cute… πŸ˜‰ and you can bring the movie next movie night, it sounds like a great way to waste a few hours πŸ˜‰

  2. Heh I know.. It’s hard to get anything out of those clips, but I just had to post them for my own sake πŸ˜‰
    He’s very cute.. I only have it on my computer.. But if I have money some day, I might buy it.. But I could bring Men in tights next time πŸ˜‰

  3. LHK says:

    I want to see it too!
    But the song “Ever ever after” is not from “Ella Enchanted” but from “Enchanted”, and thats a Disney ;o)

  4. stenfalk says:

    if we are talking about the robin hood in tights movie, please bring it πŸ˜‰

  5. Oh you are right ever ever after is from Enchanted must have mixed those up…And I sure will bring men in tights next time, it’s only thanks to stenfalk that I own it, I’m not sure that I ever would have bought it for myself… πŸ˜‰

  6. jen says:

    The Princess Bride is one of my all-time favorite movies! My kids love it too (my hubby even likes it). It’s got a little something in it for everyone – humor, sword fights, rodents of unusual size, true love, and a happy ending. And it doesn’t hurt that Cary Elwes is very easy on the eyes!

  7. Exactly, love to hear that You like it.. If I ever get children I hope that they will love too.. Unfortunately I haven’t yet met a man who liked it, but I will never stop the search πŸ˜‰ Oh I forgot to mention the rodents of unusual size, that’s so brilliant..

Leave a Reply

