Something about romance…

Yeah, well I’ve finally come to terms with the fact that I’m a hopeless romantic as well as a softy. Yesterday I cried while watching Hakuna Matata, and yes it is the Lion King 3. As tears ran down my cheeks I started laughing, because in the scene Pumba is telling Timon that he has nowhere to go and that he’s all alone while making doe eyes, yes a warthog making doe eyes. Then Timon tells him that he to have nowhere to go, and that Pumba is the only friend he’s ever had. Turn on the water works. A meerkat and a warthog declaring their love for each other, and I cry like a baby.

By the way I can highly recommend this movie, it was actually quite entertaining. We follow the storyline of the original Lion King, but watch everything from Timon and Pumba‘s point of view, it get’s rather hilarious. Especially because we see Simba as a helpless cub and a horrible teenager, all the things missing from the original movie.

But back to me ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh right I was a romantic. I can’t count how many times I’ve watched BBC’s Pride and Prejudice but it’s definitely more that ten. This is a six-hour series so needless to say I’ve “wasted” a lot of hours on feasting my starving inner romantic. I just found a draft I’ve written about Pride and Prejudice, so I might as well use it now ๐Ÿ˜‰

Pride and Prejudice is written by the english author Jane Austen in 1813. Jane Austen always wrote about women who tried to make a difference and defy the established system. Not in a huge rebellion way, but by standing by her beliefs and fighting for her rights and family. In Pride and Prejudice we follow the Bennet family, that is in the worst possible situation a family at this time could be, Mr. and Mrs. Bennet has five daughters and none of them are married. At this time women couldn’t own property so Mr. Bennet’s estate would fall into his horrible cousin William Collins and the female Bennet’s would be left with no income.

The story is about how the family is trying to get all the daughter’s married with respectable gentlemen, but easier said than done. Our main character is Elizabeth Bennet is not willing to settle for anything less than true love, not even to safe her family, like her other sisters she doesn’t search for a husband. Elizabeth is an open, witty and intelligent girl who has the tendency to judge on first impressions. Her older sister Jane, is beautiful and shy, the classic beauty. She’s very modest, and Elizabeth keeps convincing her that she deserves the best and nothing less. The three younger sisters Mary, Lydia and Kitty. Lydia and Kitty are silly teenagers, running around embarrassing the family. Mary is the literary one, she isn’t very attractive and have no intention of finding a male companion. The mother Mrs. Bennet is hysterical and have very poor nerves, so the family’s situation is hard on her, she very funny and extremely melodramatic. Mr. Bennet is the opposite very quite and sarcastic, you rarely see him lose his head, or get worried. These are the Bennet’s.

The other main character is Mr. Darcy, he’s insanely rich, handsome, very stubborn and highly concerned regarding his social status. He makes a horrible first impression, but believe me he grows on you.. His best friend is Charles Bingley he buys an estate close to the Bennet’s.

It’s a love story between Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. I love love stories from 19th and 20th century, they have much more dept than most modern stories. As I’ve mentioned I have watched this miniseries many times, and there isn’t a single sex scene we doesn’t get any further than a kiss. And I love it. In Pride and Prejudice Elizabeth’s love isn’t based on sexual attraction but on how Mr. Darcy have helped her family and how generous he actually is. Mr. Darcy’s love for Elizabeth is based on the fact that she challenges him.

At first neither of them like each other. But Mr. Darcy’s affection grows and he falls deeply in love with Elizabeth. Elizabeth on the other hands grows to hate him more and more throughout the movie. There’s this brilliant scene where Mr. Darcy comes to ask Elizabeth for her hand in marriage with the worst proposal ever. He tells her that in vain he have struggled not to love her, but that he against his better judgement loves and admires her. Since he’s very rich and Elizabeth is rather poor it wouldn’t be an acceptable match for him, wich you should never lead with in a marriage proposal.

I’ve found the scene on YouTube ๐Ÿ™‚ Gotta love that shit…

Ohhh love love love… Colin Firth is so hot, my dreamy stuck up british man ๐Ÿ˜‰

Enough about Pride and Prejudice and on to one of my other favourite love stories A room with a view…

This movie is based on the novel by the same name, written by E. Forster. It’s a beautiful love story set in the 20th century, the story begins in Florence at a hotel, where a young girl named Lucy Honeychurch is on vacation with her chaperone Charlotte Bartlet.

It all starts out with a scene at the dinning room at the hotel, where all the guests eat together. Lucy and Charlotte are disappointed that they didn’t get rooms with a view. Then an elder gentleman named Mr. Emerson tells the ladies that he and his son George has rooms with a view. He then offers the rooms to the two ladies, but Charlotte refuses because she doesn’t want to be in debt to Mr. Emerson.

This may sound trivial and boring, but it’s such a great dialogue. Later on they however do accept the offer and moves into the two gentlemen’s rooms. And George falls in love with Lucy. Lucy however deniesย having any feelings since she’s to be married with a stuck up boring man named Cecil. It’s just such an adorable story with George struggling to make her fall in love with him, and Lucy fighting her feelings and tries to force herself to fall in love with Cecil Vyse.

My favourite scene is Lucy and George’s first kiss. They’ve been spending some time together in Florence talking and George have instantly fallen in love with her. On this trip the entire party take to the country he kisses her against her will, on this hill-side. This scene might seem weird taking out of context, but it’s one of my romantic fantasies to be kissed on a field of barleyย ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oh, and Julian Sands is my other favourite british guy…

Hmm, I’m pretty sure I’ve contradicted myself somewhere above but hell with it. I love romance and I can’t count how many romantic movies I’ve watched and re-watched. I guess that I like looking at fictional characters finding their one true love. Some day I might find my prince, but not too soon I’m pretty sure I still have some frogs that I need to have fun with first ๐Ÿ˜‰

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in In lust we trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something about romance…

  1. stenfalk says:

    need to have fun with… ๐Ÿ˜‰ not spoken like a true lady ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Pingback: 'Darcy's Story' is a Good One (Austenalia)

  3. Pingback: 'Darcy's Story' is a Good One (Austenalia)

Leave a Reply

