Northside festival Saturday

I was actually working on this post about the environment, but that’s just gonna have to wait because I have just had an amazing weekend at the Danish Northside Festival in Aarhus.

When I first saw the programme I was stunned, so many of my favorite bands at one two-day festival, quite amazing. I wont write about all the artists just the ones I watched.

The first artist we saw was Soeren Huss, a Danish sing and song writer. A couple of years ago he lost his wife and his unborn child in a traffic accident. His album is kind of his way of dealing with this, and it’s beautiful and heartbreaking. He’s great and I love him. This is his first single, “Du er saa smuk” translating “You’re so beautiful”. In this video the actress is Sonja Richter, who’s in my opinion one of the greatest actresses in Denmark. It’s in my opinion, sad, haunting and beautiful.

Then we watched one of the greatest Danish bands right now The Floor Is Made of Lava, I still love that name ๐Ÿ˜‰ This was a brilliant concert. I love the lead singer Tobias Kippenberger, he’s one of the sexiest men in Denmark.. Grrr… He just stood there in his white t-shirt smoking and drinking his way through the performance. He’s amazing to watch and a very good entertainer. The audience was just ready to party after two songs, and it was just such a fun concert. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to find a live video, so I’ll just show you one of their music video’s All Outta Love.ย I’m pulling slot machines and dime bags – Pushing my luck around. Love that sentence.. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMCX0zLKv8Y&feature=related

Another Danish band is VETO, when they played it rained like crazy but luckily this band can handle it. My friend and I had already watched them twice this year, so we decided to enjoy from a tent so our hair wouldn’t get messed up ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I still want to show one of their songs.. I don’t get the video, but I think this song is truly fantastic.

Then my friend really wanted to watch the Norwegian artist Thomas Dybdahl. I had heard his name, but had no idea what his music sounded like or how he looked like. Luckily he was rather sexy and playing a banjo, come on how can you resist that ๐Ÿ˜‰ I rarely cry at concerts where I don’t already know the songs, but during on his songs a tear appeared on my cheek. It was just so beautiful and filled with pain, and might I add talent. Thank you Ditte for making me watch this concert, I wont forget it and I am so gonna listen to his albums over and over again ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve had a hard time finding a video who does him justice, I decided to go with this live recording.. But please check out some of his other songs…

And now on to one of the bands I was most exited about Editors from United Kingdom, I love them. The frontman is a complete nutcase in a good way though. We stood during the entire concert wondering whether he was drunk or weird. We landed at that is was a combo. It was great concert, he was very entertaining to watch. Unfortunately they played two of the songs from their new album that I don’t really care for, but that was the only downside the rest of it was brilliant.

Oh and now it’s getting difficult, they’ve made so many great songs and videos so I can hardly choose. I’ll just add a couple extra. But if you only wanna watch one then please watch the second one ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Then there was The Streets. For many years I’ve had a little crush on Mike Skinner, he’s a madman with ADHD and he’s hilarious. We watched the concert far back, and it was so fun to see how people just went crazy. I don’t care that much for the music, it’s funny and I love his accent but well not something I listen to at home, but it was great to experience them live ๐Ÿ™‚ But this is my favourite song.

Then on to the greatest moment of the day WHITE LIES… Oh my God.. I was so excited that I practically drew my friend crazy, but I’ve waited to watch this band for almost two years. And well all I can say is BUHJA… They were great I feared that they might let me down but they didn’t I left the concert as happy little fan ๐Ÿ˜‰ They are all very talented, but not the huge entertainers but I didn’t matter because the audience and the mood was just fantastic. Of course it also helped that the leadย singer and drummer are both very cute. I actually wasn’t to thrilled with their second album, but listening to it live, I realised that it’s great and I’ve watched it twice today, and it really is good.

So all in all a great first day at the festival..

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

