Brussels part one

Now I’m officially back in school, and big surprise school is just as boring in Brussels as in Denmark. Who knew 😉 It’s day four and I’m already spending most of my time on Facebook and different newspaper sites. So everything is as it should be…

Uh I found this great story, about a moose in Sweden that had gotten drunk from eating old apples and ended up stuck in a tree. Very funny.

But even though I don’t listen during class, it isn’t that difficult, so if I can just read a little bit I’ll easily pass my exams. Hopefully 🙂

The teacher we are having right now, says “Yes” or “Jaa” all the time and speaks english very poorly, it gets extremely annoying in about five minutes. Yesterday we had him for three hours, but luckily today it’s only two hours, so I’m positive that I’ll survive.

I still love Brussels, it’s a very beautiful city and I hope that I’ll have the energy to explore it a little bit this weekend.

I have one problem down here though, all the other “kids” hang out all the time and I just don’t have the energy. I like being alone. And yesterday the leader of our study told me that the people I live with had told him, that I didn’t spend any time with them. And it’s true I don’t, but I just can’t. I know it’s kind of stupid not to hang out with them here in the beginning, but I just don’t feel like pushing myself into doing something I don’t have the energy for. Then I think it’s better if I prioritize school instead.

Another thing, I love being alone. Especially in a big city, because you’re never really alone. Yesterday I walked around in Brussels after school exploring, and I loved it. Nobody to ruin my experience of what I saw, just me and my mind.

So I’ve decided that I don’t want to force myself into being social. I will be when I feel like it, and otherwise I’ll just do what I want. Another thing, these other students are very nice, but why should I invest millions of hours in people who I’ll never see again? I don’t need any new foreign friends, I have the people I need back home. People who know and love me, and who I love, so I’d rather spend my time down here to get my own life in order, instead of making new shallow relationships.

I have this little personal goal that I’ll hope to fulfill while I’m down here: I want to be able to go to a café and drink a cup of coffee alone, and I want to go to the cinema alone. At home I go to the theatre alone, and for some reason I don’t mind doing that, because I hate watching theatre with people who doesn’t care as much as me, because they sometimes end up ruining my experience. And I haven’t found anyone who cares as much as me, so I go alone, and I’m loving it. But for some reason I can’t go out to coffee or a movie alone, I feel to exposed. So hopefully in my four months here I’ll get enough confidence to do it. 🙂

 

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brussels part one

  1. stenfalk says:

    you know, I think it’s good for you to be on your own for a while, but think about it.,.. 4 months a a long time to be alone. You don’t think you will end up regretting that you did not get to know the others better?
    on a slightly related issue, you are walking around the city alone??? Don’t do that, what if you run into a serial killer??? Now we want you back home for christmas and not in a box, so you better get out there and make some friends ASAP 😉

  2. I am friends with the others, it’s not like I don’t know any of them.. I just don’t hang out with them during the evening… And I’m not walking alone at night, only during the day, and there’s so many people around so no worries.. I’ll come home in whole darling.. 🙂

  3. stenfalk says:

    cause no serial killers go out in day light… they are kinda like vampires that way 😛 hehe

  4. LHK says:

    I totally know that feeling, wanting to be alone with your own thoughts, seeing things for yourself making up your own mind about things…!
    Missing you here at home and looking forward for you coming home 🙂

Leave a Reply

