One Day

So, today I had an absolutely perfect day here in Brussels. Perfect weather, funny people, good food and well a brilliant movie.

My friend from home Kim-Anh and I, went to see the new Lone Scherfig movie One Day. I loved Lone Scherfig’s An Education and Italian for Beginners, she really got a brilliant eye for catching moments and really get the best out of her actors.

In this movie starred the always wonderful Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess. I’ve actually only seen him in one other movie, The Other Boleyn girl wich also is great movie but I might write about that one another time. But both Anne and Jim are brilliant.

But the funny thing about this movie is… how should I put this… Have you ever watch a movie that completely captured a part of your life? Well, the first part of this movie might as well have been about me and my friend Jesper, with whom I fancied a great deal, not so long ago. He has been mentioned on this blog somewhere.

Well, just to warn you and say SPOILER ALERT, I can’t write about this movie without giving it all away, but even if you’re planning on watching it, read on anyway, it’s a good movie even if you know the story.

It’s about two young people graduating from a college in Edinburgh. On graduation night, they sleep together, no sex just sleep. Emma is the geeky girl with glasses, who wants to become a writer and is madly in love with Dexter. Dexter is handsome, rich and got everything going on. So far a rather classic tale.

The brilliant thing about this movie, or I should probably say the book it’s based on, is that we only follow these two people on the 15th of July. We see them on this day, every year from 1988 till 2011. You might think this would be annoying, but actually it saves you from all the trivial montages and shitty stuff like that. You just experience the key moments.

Emma, moves to London a year after graduation, to pursue her dream of becoming a writer. Dexter helps her move, but is planning on spending the year in India. Unfortunately for Emma, her dream doesn’t come true, and she’s forced to work at this crabby Mexican restaurant. While this is happening Dexter screws everything that moves and just living off his families money.

But back how this is about me… MUHAHAHAHA.. Amazing how I can make anything fit my world πŸ˜‰ But no, after I graduated what in Denmark is called Gymnasium, Jesper and I was together all the time. And we often kissed and then he slept over, without the sex. And I remember that every time I thought, this time it’s for real and we’ll be together in the morning. But things never went that way.

Emma and Dexter is the same way. I recognize the look in Emma’s eyes every time something either good or bad happens in their relationship. And the look in Dexter eyes, is exactly the same as Jesper’s.

Later on Dexter becomes a very famous TV host. He can get any girl he wants and gets it. Emma is still working as a waitress, but has gotten a boyfriend, a very bad comedian named Ian. She doesn’t love him, he’s just a way to spend time, between Dexter’s visits.

At one point their relationship falls to pieces, he’s constantly drunk and high on drugs, and stops listening to Emma. There’s this beautiful scene, where she’s walking away from him angry, while he stand still yelling that he’s sorry. Then she turns around and walks towards him, and then he stands their looking smuck, oh I have seen that look so many times, when Jesper knew that he could get me to do anything. But Emma hugs him and says “I love you Dexter, I’m just not sure I like you anymore”. Buhja it’s good.

And later on in the movie, every time something good is happening for Emma, then he’s there to ruin it. Forcing her to remember how much she cares for him. Every time she’s almost over him, then he’s right back again. This is just way too familiar for as well. Every time I finally got the guts to move on, and got over Jesper, he always found his way back, being there when I was most vulnerable.

But no, no… Don’t hate Dexter he’s very cute and adorable. He’s only an assface in the beginning of the movie.

Well, this is kind of where the comparison with me stops, I wont reveal the rest of the movie. But go watch it, please.

It’s was hard for me to watch this movie, because all those emotions I had for Jesper was all gone. I officially ended everything with him at this years Roskilde Festival, so it wasn’t that long ago. But Henrik had just made me forgot all about how lost I was. Jesper constantly screw me over now that I think about it. He used to be a very close friend, my best friend at one point. But I guess, I loved him all along. I just hid behind funny jokes and the fact that I knew he wasn’t good for me, just like Emma.

When Emma and Dexter finally gets together, I sad in the cinema with a weird taste in my mouth. For about four years I had wanted that, to finally have tamed that guy, who you could just never get your hands on. And a small part of me, felt sad when I realised that it’s never gonna happen for Jesper and me. We are never gonna end up together. For one because he has broken my trust to many times and I would never be able to trust him. For the second and this was the one that actually made everything else fade away, because I got Henrik now, and how silly this might sound, but I’m planning on keeping him for as long as possible…

So, again watch the movie. But maybe not with my story in mind, because then you’re gonna think of me as beyond pathetic. It really meant a lot to me, to see this movie, because I finally figured out why I have had such a hard time letting go on Jesper. Now he’s finally out of my life, and I pray to God that we wont have the same ending as the movie, for many reasons.

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One Day

  1. stenfalk says:

    I can see why you had not told us about Jesper… We would have been too busy shouting TWILIGHT!!!

    Anyway, a bit confusing, or maybe I am just not awake yet, but sounds like you are still the same, adprable you πŸ˜‰ glad you are having a great time sweety.

  2. Haha… Hmm, I honestly don’t understand why I didn’t like Twillight, apparently it’s about me πŸ˜‰
    I know it’s very confusing, probably because I haven’t written it very well, was very “excited” while I wrote it… And yeah I’m adorable as always πŸ™‚

  3. LHK says:

    Hehe, I didn’t quite get it either, but you did entrige me so now am properly gonna go and see it πŸ˜‰
    I think that the reason you don’t like Twilight is because you never saw it, you fell asleep…. πŸ˜‰

  4. Well, you do that.. It’s actually quite good.. πŸ™‚
    I actually have watched Twillight after the time where I fall asleep. I just didn’t want to admit it πŸ˜‰ And well I got all the way through and well still no… I just can’t shake the fact that the vampires are all wrong, and even though they are both hot I just get annoyed by looking at Edward and Jacob. I just wanna hit them in the face.

  5. stenfalk says:

    ah, not jacob…. team jacob you bitch!! hehe πŸ˜›

  6. Haha… Oh yeah Jacob too… I get annoyed by looking at him, not sure why.. But I just wanna smush his face… His body is okay though πŸ˜‰

  7. stenfalk says:

    now where is my shovel, when I need it… grr… Jacob is cute, in a hobbit kinda way… πŸ˜‰

  8. LHK says:

    I so agree with Stenfalk here… Jacob is just too hot…! I have got my shovel right here, want to borrow it…?

  9. stenfalk says:

    hell yeah πŸ˜‰ haha

Leave a Reply

