Dead until Dark

Oh boy, where to begin? I’ve always fancied vampires, mostly because of their platonic love and not seeing much difference between the sex. Because in my head, vampires can’t have sex, without blood flowing no boner. Or that’s how it makes sense in my mind. But all the newer stories of vampires have sex all over the place, and I’ll admit I don’t mind much.

I’ve developed an aversion against Twillight. I’ll admit that I don’t at all have enough knowledge to support that, since I’ve only watched the first movie, after several attempts. But I didn’t like the vampires and the Bella character, even though some of my friends have pointed out my resemblance with her, thanks for that btw πŸ˜‰

I’ve watched a couple of episodes of The Vampire Diaries. It’s also very teenag’y but the vampires are in my opinion cooler. They wear a ring, that allows them to walk the earth during daylight. But I quickly lost interest in Vampire Diaries as well, the only thing that makes me watch once in a while is Ian Somerhalder, who still might be one of the most beautiful men walking this planet. He’s so sexy as an evil vampire, me likey.

But back to this book, it’s the first book of seven I think called the Sookie Stackhouse novels.

They are about Sookie Stackhouse who’s like all other girls in vampire stories has lost her parents. Apparently if you’ve lost one or two parents you are more exposed to falling in love with a vampire.Β  She’s living in a small very american town with her grandmother. Sookie works as a waitress, and she’s a physic. She’s exposed to peoples minds.

The book is told from her point of view, and starts out very entertaining. The government has just acknowledged the vampires as “people”. People are told that they are suffering from a virus, that makes them appear dead. This should make people more acceptable of these new inhabitants.

Sookie is very anxious to meet a vampire, and one evening Bill, the vampire enters the bar. And yes she falls in love with him πŸ˜‰

In this book vampires has several choices to get the blood they need to survive. They can as always kill people and animals. But there has been created some sort of artificial blood, the vampires can drink even though they say it tastes horrible. But, there’s also hookers and groupies who allows vampires to drink from them, not a deadly doses of course (most of the time).

A huge subject in the book, is that sex with a vampire should be beyond amazing and something people seems to get addicted to.Β  There’s also people working as vampire drainers, draining the vampires for blood and leaving them in the sun to die.Β  If blood from vampires are drinked by humans, it increased their health and sex drive, so there’s a huge market for this.

And this is how it all begins, with Sookie saving Bill from some evil vampire drainers.

The vampires in this book are the way I like vampires, they can’t walk over a threshold unless invited, they can’t stay up at night, they need to sleep in their hidden coffins, being very vulnerable to vampire haters during the day. Of course they are very strong. And then they can manipulate people, can’t remember what it’s called, but it just like real vampires in my opinion. The only thing is that Bill has a slight glow in the moonlight, that only Sookie can see, but it might just be because of his very pale skin, can’t remember if it’s explained.

This book is about Sookies and Bills love and sex life. And about the murders of four women. Three of them young women who had affairs with vampires.

I wont waste time on telling you the entire story, because it’s really not that interesting. The Sookie character is great, I feel in love with her instantly, she’s not a damsel in distress. She’s a girl who’s considered weird due to her psychic powers and has given up on maintaining a social life. But luckily she can’t hear the thoughts of vampires. She says that it’s impossible to date men, whose thoughts you can hear 24/7, and I believe that. It would go boobs, boobs, ass, football, bacon, boobs…. She’s just cool. Of course a bit hopeless sometimes, but aren’t we all? πŸ˜‰

The vampires are great I love them, there’s both those who wants to live among people, and then the crazy sex fixated once who can’t at all be trusted. The vampires are as in most literature containing vampires very sexy and beautiful. So in that way this book isn’t much different from all the other vampire stories.

The book is very bloody, brutal and badly written most of the time. But still I felt entertained, most of the time. I’m not sure that I’ll recommend it, only if you are a true sucker for vampires (pun intended πŸ˜‰ ) The love story is cute, but the crime story isn’t very good. It’s like all other crime solving books, you are forced to suspect everybody and then in this one the murderer turns out to be a totally insignificant character.Β  I hate when writers do that, because it just seems as though they want “turn in” any of their good characters.

So, well I don’t feel like I’ve waisted my time, but I don’t feel completely satisfied. No the feeling?? But I needed this book, for the last two months I haven’t been reading anything besides rather heavy classics so it felt relieving reading a silly vampire novel, sometimes you just need that…

The books have been turned into a huge HBO show. Here’s some pictures of the guys from the show..

 

Yes, I know they are all older than Edward and Jacob, but I like’em grown up πŸ˜‰ MUHAHAHA

The tv-series though, is rather entertaining. It’s very bloody and brutal, so sometimes it too much for my poor nerves, but I like it, it’s not silly teenagers running around, but adults. And I find that very appealing.

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dead until Dark

  1. New poll on The Vampires Realm!
    Choose the best vampire themed teen movie!
    Over 100 votes already πŸ˜€ but guess what? They`re pretty tight!!!
    We await your word on it πŸ˜‰

    Feel free to Subscribe / Like / Comment

  2. stenfalk says:

    team jacob, you bitch πŸ˜›

  3. jen says:

    If you’re basing your opinion of Twilight on just the first movie, I’ll say this: Kristin Stewart, who plays Bella, totally ruins the movies with her complete and utter lack of acting ability. The books are a beautiful love story and well worth the read. Whoever cast the movies made a huge mistake when they chose an actress with no emotional range whatsoever!

  4. Well, I’ve tried to read the first book, without any luck.. But I promise I will try again πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

