Tim Christensen and the Damn Crystals

So, tomorrow my personal hero releases his new album. To those of you who doesn’t know Tim Christensen, he’s a Danish sing and song writer. He started out in a band called Dizzy Mizz Lizzy and was one of the bands to implement the new rock genre in Denmark, along with Kashmir and Psyched Up Janis.

I simply love him, in my opinion he’s a genius. I’ve been waiting for this album for a long time, and hopefully its a lot more rock than his previous solo albums.

When he was playing in Dizzy Mizz Lizzy, he was only 19 years old, and quickly became the new star in the Danish music world. Of course this blew up in their face and they broke up after only two studio albums. Very very sad. In autumn 2009 they announced a reunion tour of 5 concerts. My friend and I were crazy excited and sad by the computer, to make sure we got tickets. And we got them. I was beyond happy.

Those 5 concerts were sold out in matter of minutes. So I felt very lucky to have gotten tickets to their very first reunion concert in Odense Arena, it was amazing. They were better than before, much better.

After they decided to expand the tour, and they ended up playing at almost every music festival in Denmark that summer. I ended up seeing them five times, and well I wouldn’t have mind seeing them hundreds more. I saw their first and what should have been the last concert, and the development was amazing. At the first concert they almost played their entire repertoire, everything was rather strict without much room for playing. At the last concert I saw, they only managed to play half the set, they were playing having fun with guitar solo’s and improvisations. It was one of the most amazing concerts I’ve ever experienced.

Back to when Dizzy Mizz Lizzy dissolved. Tim Christensen was the only one from Dizzy who continued a career in music. In 2000 he released his first solo album, Secrets on Parade. I’m still rather fond of this album, I love its imperfection. It’s a guy in his twentieth who’s been released and is now allowed to do whatever he wants. And he has no idea what that is. He wants to continue the Dizzy spirit, but still he wants the album to show who he is. He actually succeeds quite nicely. And I still listen to it frequently, and the songs and lyrics still get to me.

Then he released Honeyburst in 2003. That will in my opinion always be a very beautiful album. The music wasn’t what I had hoped, but both lyrics and music are very well written, and the album is filled with the soul of Tim. This album has his most famous songs. Whispering at the top of my lungs, right next to the right one and jump the gun. This album gave Tim his current status as a respectable sing and song writer. I’ve never grown a real connection to this album, I’m not sure why, but it just hasn’t really touched me.

Then in 2008 he came with Superior. This album is like reading his mind, it’s amazing for a worshiper like me. He plays all instruments himself, really showing how much of a control freak he truly is. The album is way to perfect. Everything is retouched to the point where you wanna kick him. It’s obvious that he wanted to create the perfect album. I think that he has created an album as close to perfect as possible, but it just get too much. Everything is way to perfect. I still love how truthful it is, but as with Honeyburst it never got under my skin.

So, as might have concluded Tim Christensen hasn’t actually released a solo album that has truly rocked my world. So why do I keep worshiping him? Because I know he got potential, and well I love him, what more can I say πŸ˜‰

But this new album is different, he’s back in a band. Tim Christensen and the Damn Crystals. I really hope that this album will live up to my expectations, and that my dear Tim has learned something from his Dizzy tour last year. I can’t wait to listen to this album tomorrow πŸ™‚

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

