That’s life

I was just in the middle of another sob story about my depression, then I realised that I gotta stop dwell in the past. So today I will write about something else.

Instead I wanna write about a huge passion of mine, something that helps me get through the rough days and make me smile even more on the good days.

DISNEY!!

I’m a sucker for Disney’s over romantic stories about love, friendship and tolerance. Many of my beliefs I’ve gotten by watching Disney. We can learn a lot from these timeless stories…

Last year I lived in Brussel in Belgium, from there it only to an hour and a half to Disneyland Paris, so I was there once or twice… Or four times maybe… I got addicted..
This is a place where you can’t possibly be sad, it’s my wonderland…

When I was a kid watching my VHS tapes with Disney classics, I was always looking forward to the Disneyland commercial.. And I instantly started fantasizing about this utopia, filled with all my heroes. I imagined a place without fights, responsibility and parents who wasn’t paying attention.

I had a very happy childhood, but some days it would have been nice to be far far away…

I’ve dreamt of going to Disneyland my entire childhood, but we never got so far. But that doesn’t matter now. I feared that I wouldn’t be as amazed as I would have when I was a kid. But luckily that wasn’t the case.

It will always be a place that I’ll remember as close to heaven. And I’m going back some day, that’s for sure.

But back to the movies. The Disney classics are my bible. I love almost all of them, some I haven’t developed a relationship with and I’m guessing that’s why I don’t worship them.

Whenever I’m sad I watch one of these treasures. I have so many favourites that I can’t single one out, so I’ll try to boil it down to ten. 🙂 the order is random.

1. Winnie the pooh: the sweet story of Winnie the pooh and all his friends. In this movie we find my all time favourite character Eeyore, the cutest depressive donkey. I love him, perhaps because he’s a rather political incorrect character. You gotta love that 🙂

2. The Lion King: What can I say, this movie is so brilliant. I can barely find the words to describe this film, well I guess brilliant was a good word. The story about the little lion cub Simba, who looses everything crawled into all our hearts back in 1994. A classic worth mentioning.

3. Robin Hood: The sexy sexy fox who lives in the Sherwood Forrest, and saves Nottingham from the evil Prince. A beautiful classic brought to the screen filled with Disney’s magic.

4. Mouse detective Basil: The most underrated Disney classic of all time. I know very few who knows it, but it’s truly I hidden treasure. It’s a story based on the tale of Sherlock Holmes. It’s fun, brilliant and has one of the greatest villains ever.

5. Hercules: The story of the Greek hero. It’s filled with Greek mythology great characters and beautiful songs. I have watch this so many times and I adore every frame. And well Hades is beyond awesome.

6. Fox and hound: The most beautiful story about friendship and it’s soooo gay…. It is so moving and I always cry like crazy when Todd is being left in the Forrest. It’s heartbreaking and well Disney 🙂 this classic was released in 1981.

7. Beauty and the beast: Probably the most beautiful animated movie of all time. Every frame is practically perfect. The music is good, the story is good and well the beast is kinda got 😉 an unforgettable classic from 1991…

8. The Sword In The Stone: The story of how the young Arthur becomes king of England with help from the wizard Merlin. Merlin is one of the greatest Disney characters of all time he’s just genius. I have no idea if he at all resemblance the real myth, but honestly it doesn’t matter at all. A touching story about how you can become anything you set your mind up too. This movie is an ‘oldie’ from 1963.

9. Mulan: This is a very tough story about a girl from China, who disguises as a boy to fight in the war against the Huns. She’s not a silly princess, but a girl with balls. She’s so cool. This is a rather new classic from 1998, but it’s one of my all time favourites.

10. Oliver and Company: Oliver is cute and Dodger is sexy, what else can I say 😉 this movie aired the year that I was born in 1988.

I know I’ve forgotten Bambi, Dumbo, Tarzan, Brother Bear, Pocahontas, Aladdin, The Hunchback Of Notre Dame, Aristocats and the Rescuers. And many more.

I could write for hours but I’ll stop now. Please write your favourite as a
comment 🙂

So, thank you Walt Disney. For everything. All the happy hours with your amazing characters. For all the times they’ve turned a tear into a smile, and all the times we’ve shared a tear with them. Walt, I believe that you’ve made the world a better place and if everybody shared your beliefs there wouldn’t be any disputes or wars.

Unfortunately the world isn’t perfect, but luckily we can escape into your world, when the real one starts sucking too much 🙂

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That’s life

  1. stenfalk says:

    I dont know what to say… I like your sob stories… they are so much easier for me to relate too 😉 hehe How dare you be happy… :p

  2. No you’re not honey… The truth is you can’t be creative if you’re not a little sad or fucked… That’s why when many artists becomes sober their stuff sucks 😉

Leave a Reply

