My Own Horse(s)

It’s been a long time, but I haven’t had much spare time these past few weeks. My entire world has changed completely and turned into a world of horses.

On February 2nd my little dear sweet mare came home. Gaia.

560480_525404790837240_927544937_n

She’s a dear sweet baby mare, only seven months old. I’ve never owned a baby before, so I’m taking on quite a challenge. Luckily she bares over with most of the time. My old horse, Lise was a nervous mare. Her go-to move was to run and then look. Gaia looks and decides whether it’s dangerous or not, usually she comes to the conclusion that it isn’t. She isn’t scared of the world. I’m a clots, I drop things, fall down and can be very loud by accident. Yesterday I had emptied the big water bucket and then I dropped it, it made a surprisingly loud sound. Gaia was standing next to me, so as the bucket escaped my hand I thought damn, now she’s gonna be afraid of the bucket. I was stunned, she stood still next to me and started biting in the bucket. It took me years to learn Lise that it was okay to throw water buckets, but this little girl apparently doesn’t find it all that terrifying. Then I threw the bucket again, further away and Gaia simply walked up to it like a little dog.  I truly hope that her curiousness will forever trumps her fear. That could be rather fun to work with.

163329_525405100837209_310159001_n

Because I had to get her home rather quickly I didn’t manage to find her a playmate before I got her home. Luckily she dealt with being alone amazingly, and found some sort of company in my brothers sheep. I know that you shouldn’t leave a horse alone, but I wanted her home as fast as possible, then I simply had to figure out the rest later on. The first week went great, it felt like she actually enjoyed having the hay for herself and not being bullied. Then after about a week she started to get bored, which is quite understandable. I had already been looking for someone she could play with. This was a bit difficult, because many of the horses I could afford were rather sad cases. Some of them I truly considered calling the owner and asking for the F*** was wrong with them. There was old and lame horses given away for free, others with rather severe injuries and just some very very old horses who should not change homes.

Horses are an animal and a friend, we owe it to them to send them off when it’s time. We really owe them that much. It’s not fair to prolong their suffering just because we can’t step up and make the tough decision. Many horses never say no, so you can’t always count on them telling you when it’s time. Horses are sometimes rather similar to dogs, some will never show their owner that something’s wrong.

I’m so glad that I said goodbye to Lise before she fell apart, I would have hated to see that magnificent horse turn into a shadow. It had started to happen a little bit, she was all of a sudden much more clingy and didn’t fight the other horses on the pasture as much as she usually did. Then I had her put down. She was in charge, she was always the one controlling everything on the pasture, so to see her slip was an eye opener. She had ovary cancer, and probably could have lived one more year or so, but I did’t want her to stop being who she was, to slowly fade away until I couldn’t recognize my first love.

271279_10150753992465657_607480656_20149995_7695423_o

No, she was magnificent until the very end and I’m so proud of myself that I could let her go, even though it’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Here she is the day before she was put down, just magnificent.

IMG_8803

Well, my post took a rather different turn. Actually I was just getting to the part where I bought Indy. In his papers it says that his name is Indy, but I can’t stand that it’s spelled weird. So, I’ll call him Indie from now on.

149919_522350444476008_1482359010_n

Indie is a fat and sweet pony. A very fat pony.  But, he’s so adorable and everybody can pet him, walk with him and everything. I had my doubts regarding his weight, because it’s close to impossible to make a pony lose so much weight as he needs to. But, I’m up for the challenge. When I saw him I instantly knew that I wanted to take him home. Now, I just hope that my intuition hasn’t deceived me 😉

307393_525404937503892_2010957686_n

This was my introduction of my two new horses. I know that I made the right call bringing Gaia home, and I’m pretty sure that it was the right thing to bring Indie home. Only time can tell. But, for now my heart is melting every time I see my boyfriend walking Indie, it’s just so adorable.

560271_525404404170612_1030747879_n

So, even though owning horses again is a huge amount of work I haven’t been this happy for a long time. Happy and tired 😉

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Own Horse(s)

  1. Starstone says:

    Congratulations on the babies 🙂 It’s so good to see you smile again 🙂 And they are just perfect, both of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

