When did it stop being about the horse?

This is just going to be a short and very angry post. Be warned, so if you are not in the mood for a hysterical post please don’t read on.

The danish championship in dressage has just been held and as it has for the past years been a sight of horror.

A friend of mine showed some pictures among them one of a horse with a blue tongue. This is just not acceptable if you ask me, and I’ll never understand why the judges don’t ask the rider to leave the competition.

Also the very debated rollkur is clearly used openly. Rollkur is a way of training where you force the horse to over extend it’s neck. It is animal cruelty, many researches have shown how this is directly damaging the horses body. But, still it’s used. How can the audience just sit there and watch this happen?? Why don’t they all stand up and walk away. Turning their back on this unacceptable behavior. Thousands of people. Well, honestly I know why. Hopefully many amongst the audience believes that it isn’t acceptable riding, but they all fear that they are the only one.

And also, this is supposed to be the greatest horseback riders in Denmark. So, unfortunately many may believe that you are suppose to ride this way. And they sure believe that they have to if they wanna win competitions.

Actually it’s the judges who need a good kicking. But, they are all probably bought.

Wow, I’m even angrier than I thought.

I’ve watched a few videos on youtube from the day and well after three I simply had to stop and write this. Actually I watched four, during the last one I was thinking oh that’s not so bad. Then I got even angrier. You shouldn’t think like that when it’s an national championship. You really shouldn’t.

It’s all about the money and prestige. Never about whether the horse is happy.

A well ridden horse can be ridden for many many years.. But, dressage horses ridden on high level rarely last long. They should be trained probably, then they could have a long career. But, sadly it isn’t the case.

The world of horses is always in such a hurry. Time is money.

Then on a smaller note I ordered this mailorder catalogue with horseequipment. How can that annoy me you might think? Well, the first half was ridiculously expensive equipment for the rider. Fair enough, but who spende 500 danish krones on a polo to wear near horses? In a minute it would be covered in hair and drull. Or perhaps the horses aren’t allowed to touch the polo.

Then the rest of the magazine has a main focus on colors and matching. Because you can’t ride a horse that doesn’t match, the horse will simply be unable to move.

I don’t mind that people like that everything is matching. But, I just don’t like when equipment is more about color than whether it’s the right equipment for the horse. It can make poor girls spend a huge amount of money on stuff just because it match. Not a fan.

I’m done πŸ™‚

This is in a way about a girl who always got other peoples used equipment. I could never afford buying the same thing in three different colors.. And I’ll never understand why if you really just need one.

Well, the color this isn’t hurting everyone. I just don’t like the attitude that has grown from it. That some might feel obligated to spend a lot of money on something they don’t need, just so they aren’t being bullied by the others.

Then it’s like those little girls wearing dolce gabana as ten year olds, at that age I wore Dalmatian dotted leggins. πŸ˜‰

Now, I’m done.

Can we let the world of horses be a little bit more about the horses? They are the season why we are all in it.

About theevilicequeen

Hi, I'm the only true IceQueen left in the world.. I have passed the exams, and now I'm in control of snow and ice all over the world... It's pretty fucking awesome....
This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When did it stop being about the horse?

  1. Starstone says:

    I am sneaking in a link to my beautiful pictures here…
    http://starstonestenfalk.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/lock-and-load-danish-championship-dressage-2013/
    and come on, horses have to match, are you kidding me? I am pretty sure I nearly killed my friend’s horse the other day because I wore blue boots to a green sadle pad when I rode him… At least she have not forgiven me for that yet πŸ˜›

    • Haha that’s okay I wanted to use the link but I was writing the post on my phone, so I had no idea how to πŸ˜‰ yeah did the horse survive? Well, I just got a bit hysterical reading the magazine, I was worked up already, but all the horses matched… It really did annoy me a bit πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

